This is the beginning of an interactive and participatory online exhibition that will be developed here from now until the end of 2021.

We will be creating a series of (digital) spaces to enable you to participate in this process. Our aim is to present a complete online exhibition on the topic of forced and mixed migration at the end of the year. This site will also provide a forum for discussion of how we want to shape our lives and communities in an immigration-friendly society.

The German word Heimat functions as a central idea both in political debates and personal identity. This is why we have decided to start with the Heimat-Builder. You can use this application to create your own image of Heimat and present it in the exhibition. We look forward to seeing your pictures.

This online exhibition is based on the live exhibition of the same title: “Arriving. Life after forced migration”.

The exhibition was presented at the Marienfelde Refugee Center Museum from 2017 to 2019 and tells the story of leaving and arriving. It focuses on individuals who fled to Germany.

In video interviews they speak about leaving their country, their hopes for the future and the challenges they face in starting all over.

In 2012, shortly after arriving in Germany, the Gedaev, Ghodoussi and Tello families, as well as Ahmad Barakizadeh, told us their stories. Four years later, in 2016, they appeared on camera again and provided a glimpse into their current lives. Had they settled into life in Germany?
Over the next few months, the eight exhibition films will be presented here in their entirety.

Taking these personal stories as a starting point, the exhibition then shifts the focus to a diverse host society and asks how politics, media and society respond to refugee protection and immigration.

Across the world the number of people forced to flee continues to grow. They seek protection from political persecution, war, discrimination, natural disasters and poverty.

Next to the museum on the grounds of the former reception center for refugees and emigrants from the GDR is a building which today provides temporary housing to people who have fled their countries. Since 2010, it has offered shelter to people seeking refuge from conflict and war.

But what comes next? Who will be allowed to stay – either temporarily or permanently? What are the challenges for new arrivals and those who are already here?

Let’s find out together over the coming months.

Autumn 2021: Launch of digital spaces

Slide

Partizipative
Online-Ausstellung

Slide

Entdecke unseren Heimat-Builder
und gestalte dein eigenes Bild von Heimat

WAS IST
HEIMAT?

Dies ist ein Anfang. Der Anfang einer interaktiven und partizipativen Online-Ausstellung, die hier bis Ende 2021 entsteht.

Schritt für Schritt werden wir (digitale) Räume gestalten und für euch öffnen. Ziel ist, am Jahresende eine Online-Ausstellung zum Thema Flucht und Migration zu präsentieren. Sie soll zugleich ein Forum für eine Verständigung darüber sein, wie wir unser Leben in der Migrationsgesellschaft gestalten wollen.

Heimat ist ein zentraler Begriff in politischen Debatten und im persönlichen Selbstverständnis. Deshalb starten wir mit dem Heimat-Builder. Mit dieser Anwendung könnt ihr euer eigenes Heimatbild gestalten und in der Ausstellung präsentieren. Wir freuen uns auf eure Bilder.

Ausgangspunkt für die Online-Ausstellung ist die gleichnamige Ausstellung „Nach der Flucht. Wie wir leben wollen“.

Die Ausstellung war von 2017 bis 2019 in der Erinnerungsstätte Notaufnahmelager Marienfelde zu sehen und erzählt vom Fortgehen und Ankommen. Im Zentrum stehen Menschen, die nach Deutschland geflüchtet sind.

In Filminterviews berichten sie vom Verlassen der Heimat, sprechen von ihren Hoffnungen für die Zukunft und geben Einblicke in die Herausforderungen des Neuanfangs.

Die Familien Gedaev, Ghodoussi und Tello sowie Ahmad Barakizadeh erzählen uns 2012 kurz nach ihrer Ankunft in Deutschland ihre Geschichte. Vier Jahre später, 2016, treten sie erneut vor die Kamera und geben uns Einblick in ihr Leben. Sind sie in Deutschland angekommen?
Die insgesamt acht Ausstellungsfilme werden im Laufe der nächsten Monate in voller Länge hier veröffentlicht.

Ausgehend von diesen persönlichen Geschichten lenkt die Ausstellung den Blick auf die heterogene Aufnahmegesellschaft und fragt danach, wie Politik, Medien und Gesellschaft auf Flüchtlingsschutz und Einwanderung reagieren.

Weltweit sind immer mehr Menschen auf der Flucht. Sie suchen Schutz vor politischer Verfolgung, Krieg, Diskriminierung, Naturkatastrophen und Armut.

In unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft der Erinnerungsstätte – auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Notaufnahmelagers für Flüchtlinge aus der DDR – befindet sich heute ein Übergangswohnheim für Geflüchtete. Dort werden seit 2010 Schutzsuchende aus Kriegs- und Krisengebieten aufgenommen.

Aber wie geht es für sie weiter? Wer von ihnen kann bleiben – temporär oder auf Dauer? Welche Herausforderungen stellen sich denen, die ankommen, und denen, die bereits da sind?

Auf diese und andere Fragen wollen wir in den kommenden Monaten mit euch nach Antworten suchen.

Öffnung der digitalen Räume Herbst 2021